the Experimental Music Studios

EMS Mission Statement

Since the 1958 founding of the Experimental Music Studios, its mission has been defined as the following:

- to educate undergraduate and graduate student composers, performers and teachers in the history, techniques, theories, composition, realization and performance of electroacoustic and computer music with the prime focus directed toward concert art music and the contemporary arts;

- to provide extensive education, awareness and experience with contemporary sound synthesis, recording, signal processing, compositional techniques (including national and international associated compositional trends) to allow our students and faculty to maintain a leadership role within the contemporary fine arts and contemporary electronic arts;

- to increase knowledge, creative potential and creative achievement through a balanced approach of research and performance;

- to disseminate and maintain the highest level of professional standards for the instruction, creation, research and performance of electroacoustic and computer music.

Click here to take a tour of the facilities within the Experimental Music Studios.

A Sampling of Awards Won by Students of the Experimental Music Studios

* The American Dance Festival
* ASCAP/SEAMUS Young Composer Commissions
* BMI Composition awards
* Concorso Internazionale Luigi Russolo Foundation Competition, Italy
* Gaudeamus International Composition Competition Amsterdam, Netherlands
* International Society for Contemporary Music - National Composers Competition, New York
* International Electro-acoustic Music Competition - Bourges, France
* International Confederation of Electro-acoustic Music Awards - Bourges, France
* Joseph Jefferson Theatre Awards, Chicago
* Minnesota Composers Forum Awards
* National Endowment for the Arts Awards and Grants
* National Science Foundation Awards and Grants
* Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States Honors
* UNESCO Music and Technology Awards

Click here to see a more detailed list of recent awards received by EMS students.

Eli Fieldsteel - Director of the Experimental Music Studios

Scott Wyatt - Former Director of the Experimental Music Studios