Welcome to the Experimental Music Studios
of the University of Illinois
at Urbana-Champaign                                          

Electroacoustic music activities at the School of Music have earned the University of Illinois an international reputation as a leader in the field of contemporary art music. Known for significant creative and technical developments in electronic and computer music composition, the University of Illinois Experimental Music Studios were founded in 1958 by Lejaren Hiller and were among the first of their kind in the western hemisphere. Faculty members and students working in the University of Illinois School of Music have been responsible for many of the developments in electroacoustic music over the years including the first developments in computer sound synthesis by Lejaren Hiller, the Harmonic Tone Generator by James Beauchamp, expanded gestural computer synthesis by Herbert BrĂ¼n, the creation of the Sal-Mar Construction by Salvatore Martirano, acousmatique sound diffusion/multi-channel sound immersive techniques researched and applied by Scott Wyatt in electroacoustic music and performance, the creation of sound synthesis programs DIASS, DISCO, and MOSS by Sever Tipei, and the creation of Common Music Software environment, GRACE, and Music Theory Workbench by Heinrich Taube, along with his book, Notes from the Metalevel, an Introduction to Algorithmic Composition. Today the facility remains an active and productive center for electroacoustic and computer music composition, education and research.

The present facilities include nine specially designed studios for sound generation, processing, and recording.  Scott Wyatt, Professor Emeritus of Composition and Theory, who served as the director of the Experimental Music Studios for 40 years, has recently retired from this position. Eli Fieldsteel, Assistant Professor of Composition and Theory, now serves as the new director of the Experimental Music Studios, with  Sever Tipei  serving as the manager of the EMS Computer Music Project. Music students working within the studios include: composition majors, performance majors, music education majors, and musicology majors. Numerous non-music major students (including students from Theatre, Dance, Electrical and Computer Engineering, LAS, Physics, Biology, and Computer Science) also regularly enroll in EMS courses.

For questions or comments about this website please contact the webmaster at